How Do I Love Thee

Scan_20140303 (16)

How do I love thee, let me count the ways

Your quiet smile, your gentle love
The sensitivity you feel towards my needs.

Your words of love that make me feel
More beautiful than I could ever be.

Your thoughtful look when you perceive.
More than the words I try to say.

Your open heart that speaks to God
As to One close and very dear.

Yours eyes so blue, whose depths can’t hide
The pain you’ve felt, the joy you feel.

A thousand ways I love you now,
I’ll pray to love you more each day,

Till I can be the wife you need,
Or God leads in some other way.

( A poem to Larry before we were married. Published in Quiet Reflections 2011)

Leave a Reply

