The Unmapped Road Of The Disciple

“If you follow Jesus.. you can expect to..Go where you’ve never been, Do what you’ve never done, Give more than you’ve ever given, Surrender what you’ve held tightly, Love those you’ve never loved before, Forgive those you’ve failed to forgive, Trust Him for what you’ve never trusted Him before, Become what you’ve never been.”

In a sermon by Charles Stanley

These words depict my life in the past two years. In March of 2011 my husband went to be with Lord. Since then I have written and published three books, something unplanned. In March of this year, I stepped out of my comfort zone even more and accepted an invitation, to be one of the featured authors, at the Tucson Book Event, held at the University of Arizona, in Tucson. I did a book signing of my autobiography, “A Path Through.”

Two weeks ago my daughter had surgery, became infected with a Super bug and was not expected to live. But my God, listening to the prayers of many people, intervened and she is getting better every day, ahead of what the Doctors predicted. She still has a long road ahead of her to regain her strength but she is alert and breathing on her own, without the respirator, for which we give God credit. He has a plan for her life!

She has a four old boy who needs care and a husband who needs to work, sometimes out of town. I am planning to fill in where I need to, in their home, which is something I have never done before. My children are grown and I was feeling comfortable in my cozy, cocoon where the weather is warmer. It’s not easy to “surrender what I have held tightly.”

As His disciple I choose to follow this unmapped road. I choose to trust Him for what I have never trusted Him before. This is not the safe, uncluttered road I planned. The old me would be afraid, would consider my losses. But this is the me, that wants to follow the Master, Who only did what His Father asked Him to do. This is the road of the best life!

Leave a Reply

