The Life Of The Disciplined Disciple

In Matthew 11:28-30 we have the record of Jesus’ words to His disciples, “Come to Me, all you who are weary and burdened and I will give you rest. Take My yoke upon you and learn from Me, for I am gentle and humble in heart and you will find rest for your souls. For My yoke is easy and My burden is light.”

The way I have always heard this explained is that, we are yoked to Jesus like two oxen would have been yoked together to plow a field. His yoke is easy because He is carrying most of the burden on His shoulders. I never understood how carrying any yoke could be easy because it’s work. But, recently I heard an explanation of the yoke which made a lot of sense to me.

Bobby Schuller, speaking on the “Hour of Power” broadcast, said the yoke would be the teaching of the Master which his disciples would follow. He would say to them, “Come and be my disciple. Come and be yoked to me.” The disciple would take on the Master’s teaching. This makes sense of the words of Jesus, “Take My yoke upon you and learn from Me.”

In a way He was saying, “As you follow My teaching and example of humility and gentleness you will be at peace.” He promised never to give us more than we can bear, that’s the rest we can have. The disciple wanted to be like the Master so he followed him everywhere he went, listening intently to his words, observing his actions. He walked and talked so much like the Master that people who met him could probably tell whose disciple he was.

Jesus is still calling to us, to me, to you, “Come to Me, take My yoke, learn from Me. I will teach you how to live the best life possible.” Come, take, words which challenge me. It’s an offer I don’t want to miss. I need rest from my weariness. I need to carry only the burden that I know is from Him. I lay down all other burdens.

Can others see any of Jesus in me? Do they recognize Who my Master is by my words and actions? I’m not perfect, but as I absorb more of the Master’s teaching, I will become more like Him.

3 thoughts on “The Life Of The Disciplined Disciple

  1. Pingback: UNDER THE SAME YOKE « vineoflife.net

  2. Pingback: Hail, Hail the Gangs All Here! | Broken Believers ♥

  3. Pingback: Christian Foolishness | He Dwells -- The B'log in My Eye

Leave a Reply

