My Abba, Daddy

I love the Psalms, especially those written by David. The imagery and descriptive words really help me to capture the events, in pictures, as I read. This was my experience when I read Psalm 18 the other day. In fact I was laughing as pictures emerged of a loving, very protective father, almost over reacting, to the bullies that are terrorizing his needy child.

David starts the Psalm by addressing the Lord. He says, “I love Thee, O Lord, my strength.” Then he describes that strength as it relates to him. “The Lord is my rock, my fortress, my deliverer, my shield, my stronghold, I call upon Him and He saves me from my enemies.”

He’s in a desperate place and in his distress he cries out to his God for help. And God hears his voice;  his cry for help came into His ears. God must have had His ears tuned to David’s voice. I love  what happen next. I can picture God, Abba Daddy, hearing his child’s cry and seeing his plight, He reacts with great emotion;  He sees red, so to apeak. He is extremely angry at David’s enemies.

In my picture, Abba says, “That’s it. It’s game over. That’s my boy they are picking on.” Then the earth shook and quaked, the foundations of the mountains were trembling and shaking. Smoke went up out of His nostrils and fire from His mouth. Even the heavens were involved; His voice thundered in the heavens and there were hailstones and  lightning flashes which confused and routed the enemy. Wow!

David says, “He sent from on high, He drew me out of many waters, He delivered me from my strong enemy and from those who hated me. He rescued me because He delighted in me.” As he ponders the ways of God, his confidence builds, and he believes that, infused with God’s strength, he can even “leap over a wall.” This is no small feat because the walls were wide and high.

He visualizes God training him so well for battle that, with his hands, he can bend a bow of bronze. As his faith grows the picture changes. No longer is he the one in trouble, crying out to his Abba to be rescued but now, he pursues his enemies, relentlessly. The one pursued becomes the pursuer. They cry for help, even to the Lord, but He does not answer them. They aren’t His children calling so He does not hear them.

Although David does not call God his Abba, Daddy, yet in his close relationship with his Heavenly Father as “a man after God’s own heart” it would have been fitting.  Those who are His children have a right to call God by the special, childlike name, “Abba.” Jesus, the Son of God, called upon His “Abba,” from the Garden of Gethsemane.  (Mark 14:36) We, as sons of God, can call Him “Abba.” (Rom 8:15; Gal 4:6)

“The eyes of the Lord are on the righteous and His ears are open to their cry.” Psalm 34:15  After meditating on the wonder of my Abba watching over me and listening for my cry, I couldn’t help but express my love and thanks to Him. Praise the Lord!

One thought on “My Abba, Daddy

  1. Oh yes, Amen!! So very true so very true!! He is our Daddy..our Papa..who loves us with such a great love..a love greater than I personally can even begin to fathom…What a GREAT love!! If He is for us then WHO can be against us!! Ha!! Praise His Holy Name!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

